The Carter Family – The Best of the Carter Family (1965) [24bit FLAC]

The Carter Family - The Best of the Carter Family (1965) [24bit FLAC] Download

Artist: The Carter Family
Album: The Best of the Carter Family
Genre: Country
Year: 1965
Tracks: 12
Duration: 00:30:46
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
Size: 662.28 MB
Label: Columbia/Legacy

This is not “remastering”, in the normal sense, but something closer to fine art restoration. The intent is not for people to marvel at the antiquity of these discs, but rather to experience them as vital, immediate performances that speak to us as directly as they did on the day they were recorded—not simply great art for their time, but great art for all times. Engineer Nicholas Bergh has reassembled this recording system from original parts and it is now the only one left in the world. The system consists of a single microphone, a towering six-foot amplifier rack, and a live record-cutting lathe, powered by a weight-driven pulley system of clockwork gears. The musicians have roughly three minutes to record their song direct to disc before the weight hits the floor. In the 1920s, they called this “catching lightning in a bottle”.

The Carter Family, a family vocal group from Appalachian Virginia, were the most impactful discovery of talent scout Ralph Peer and the first vocal group to become country music stars. Apart from the beautiful harmonies that can only come from kin, Mother Maybelle Carter pioneered “scratch” style guitar picking, a clever synthesis of autoharp, banjo and guitar picking, and for years served as a matriarchal figure in the Grand Ole Opry.


  1. – Yesterday’s Gone – 2:04
  2. – Ring of Fire – 2:40
  3. – He Thinks I Still Care – 2:44
  4. – Cotton Fields – 2:26
  5. – Poor Old Heartsick Me – 2:35
  6. – Wall to Wall Love – 2:22
  7. – The Hammer Song – 3:11
  8. – Troublesome Waters – 3:04
  9. – Take Good Care of Him – 2:31
  10. – Big River – 2:14
  11. – Michael Rowed the Boat Ashore – 2:18
  12. – Four Strong Winds – 2:44

Download Links :

Free Download

Leave a Reply